Mental Support Community

My anxiety.

lc4tide

Hello,

This is my first time to this site, and after reading a few things on anxiety, I decided to post some things to this site.

I am not sure if anyone has any of the same symptoms that I experience with my anxiety...but I suppose I should give a background before delving straight in.

-I am an only child (that could have a lot to do with this...). I am also an only grandchild, on BOTH sides of my parents family. When I was 17, I was in a serious car accident. Afterwards, I started having panic attacks not knowing what they were at the time. My mom went with me to a psychiatrist, and I was diagnosed with PTSD, depression, and anxiety disorder. I was put onto Zoloft, and Clonazepam, I took the medication, and started feeling numb to the world, sleeping a lot, and not caring if anything happened to me.

-When I was around 18, I took myself off the medication, graduated high school, and started my life in college. Things were looking up, but I felt as if I wasn't really making my parents or my grandparents happy by majoring in what I was majoring in at the time (which was theatre arts).

-At 19, I met my husband and we got engaged shortly after. We married in March of 2007...I was 20, he 21. I started having feelings of dread and doom after I got married (when I should have been very happy!!). I took a semester off of school to ready myself for the wedding...and this was what made me feel as if I had let EVERYONE in my family down. I finally got back into school summer of 2007, but I started having panic attacks soon afterwards, which to this day are very debilitating, and sometimes take a day to recover from.