Mental Support Community

Problems with boyfriend

Strelitzia

Sorry about the long message. I've been battling depression for a few years now and I feel that I'm finally making steady progress. I'm on some new medication and I've been seeing a therapist pretty regularly for the past year. I have a job now and I'm trying to get my drivers license. I had a really dark patch though, and it really took its toll on my relationship. I've been with my boyfriend for four years but for two of those years I was deeply depressed. I found it hard to function and it took all I had just to continue going to school. He really supported me during this time as I don't drive and I'm having a hard time financially. I'm incredibly grateful for his help and support during that time. But its become really clear that our relationship has been affected by my depression. I'm getting my life together but it feels like its too late because the damage has already been done. Hes become very frustrated with me, which is understandable because its taken me a while to make progress. What i don't like is the way he handles his frustration.