Mental Support Community

depression and learning

PatPaul

Hi,

I have a question about depression and it's long term effects on learning. I have been on anti-depressants since 1997. My question is that I have had terrible time trying to learn a second language. I have been plugging away at in on and off for 18 years. I posted a question on a site dedicated to those people who study or who have matered the language. Many of the respondents to my question seemed to believe that if I have not been able to master the language after so many years I must have a problem. I know in the throes of a severe depression that cognitive abilities don't function well, but what about when I am on meds, or ever before I was officially diagnosed with depression. I guess I would like to know if a mood disorder can limit one's ability to learn something that others seem to do some much easier?

PP

Two questions, PP: Do you speak any other languages, other than English, and what age did you start learning the language in question?

In my case, I was forced to learn French at age 8, and acquired it quickly, but as an adult, struggled to pick up even a few words of Mandarin Chinese, despite being married to a native speaker. I think age has a lot to do with it, or at least it did for me.

Malign raises good questions, age is a factor as well as previous learning of other languages. I picked up English in my teens and others in my family late into their 30's-- and English is tough to learn b/c it makes little sense (ask anyone trying to learn it as a second language:D).