Mental Support Community

How can I feel like I am not alone...

rproctor

For so long now I have felt alone. It is the worse feeling I have ever felt. Everyday I feel like it gets worse and worse... Waking up alone, spending the day alone, going to sleep alone... All alone, all the time... No friends, no family, only myself...

My small group of friends that I did have do not want to deal with me as I have stopped using drugs, and as that was our only connection our friendships have pretty much been lost in the wind. My family does not live close, and even if they did live close by we still dont get along... No women in my life, it seems that I am a failure with women and cant maintain any type of relationship.

Im not good at social gatherings, how can I make friends and meet women? I need friends, true friends who are good and good for me. I need healthy people who are close to me. My entire life has been coated with negative people from negative parents to negative friends and more.

Where do you work? (Okay, I don't need to know; it's more like,) Are there any people there? Do you go out, at all? What are your interests, are there any (small) groups who get together to do that?

You need to decide whether you like big groups or small (it sounds like you prefer small), but don't exclude social events automatically. For instance, I'm fond of hiking. Occasionally, there are trail work trips, where six or eight people get together, usually not knowing each other beforehand, and they go work on trail maintenance for a day. If you don't want to mix, you can just work; you don't have to talk to more than one or two people at a time; you're doing something useful and good exercise even if you don't end up meeting anyone. It's just an example; I bet you can find something like that for most interests, if you're determined.

Basically, look around where you already "are". We're surrounded by people, the trick is getting to know them somehow.

Hello Malign,