Mental Support Community

Worried about Lamotrigine?

Hey guys,

So I don't know if anyone is on this medication but I'm really hesitant to use it.. First I'd like to consider myself to be very natural when it comes to my illness ( depression, bpd, bipolar II apparently ) I've been coping with these issues with no meds since it all started 9 years ago and I'm still here so I must have been doing something right..

It's really frustrating for me because my whole life I've never showed any signs of bipolar- just depression. Then there was a period of events which occured in december and I went to the hospital- maybe the way I was acting seemed manic , but the doctor I'm seeing now is just basing information from that one time I was in- so she thinks I have bipolar but I'm 99% sure that I do not and it's frustrating cause she won't listen and I don't know what to do about that.

So lately I've just been severely depressed the past few weeks and today I talked to her and she gave me a perscription for lamotrigine. I've heard stories that this drug causes this bodily rash and can sometimes be very serious- plus I'm worried to take it for an illness that I don't even have.. and she won't perscribe normal anti-depressants because apparently I'm bipolar.. ugh this is just so frustrating.. I wish there were just tests she could do to figure out the truth.. Anyways sorry I'm just worried about taking this medication.. and wondering maybe I need to see someone else? Any advice would be greatly appreciated :(

That doesn't sound good FR. I also was given, on a few occassions, meds I didn't think I needed either.

You have to remember that doctors do what they were taught. They are taught to drug you up. I trusted doctors many times to do right by me and whatever was wrong at the time and 9 times out of 10 it as WRONG. I think they use the ShotGun approach when prescribing meds, just throw whatever is popular at the time at you and hope for the best.