Mental Support Community

My Pdoc put me on Abilify to enhance my Pristique. I took it one night and didn't take it again. I kept waking up like every hour and when I got up for the day, I had this really wierd feeling of shaking inside and I was very foggy. I read up on it online the next day and most everyone said they had experienced debilitating side effects. I also found out that it is an antipsychotic drug. Is there something out there that doesn't have the side effects like Abilify that will enhance my Pristique?:confused:

Hello,

It sounds like abilify isn't the med for you and I'd encourage you to talk to your doctor about it. There's lots of meds out there and, unforutantly, it can take some time to find the right ones or combinations for you. I know it can be really frustrating for you to have to suffer the side effects while trying to find the right meds but I hope you'll hang in there.

I'm not a doctor but from what I've heard from some of my clients who have used it, it either works really well or it is really nasty for them. I've heard more about over sedation than what you describe though. There are a number of medications that can be prescribed for the same reasons as abilify.

Abilify is an atypical antipsychotic commonly prescribed for people with bipolar disorder. It is also pretty commonly prescribed in addition to antidepressents to help with depression that is not responding sufficiently to an antidepressent alone.

Thank you Danni for the info. I really hate the whole medication thing, as I have been on antidepressants for about 16 yrs now, and have to keep chagning up when they don't work anymore. I am hoping, and I know it's a longshot, that someday when and if I am done with therapy, I won't need the meds anymore!