Mental Support Community

Combination of Mental Illnesses or...?

NovaC

Hey guys, new member here. Signed up because I've been getting worried about myself lately.

Here's the issues. I'll try to address them individual, but they all run into each other a little but.

1) I'm a little paranoid I might have Aspergers. I took two online tests (I know, online), and those told me I very might likely have Asperger's Syndrome. The reasoning behind this paranoia is that I've noticed I have strange habits and mannerisms that match the descriptions I've read about with Asperger's. I've noticed recently that I make strange movements with my hands and feet (I'm a musician; often times I run through scales in my fingers or pretend I'm playing trumpet with my lips), and when I'm doing these type of activities, I'm unable to concentrate on anything. They aren't tics, because I know I'm controlling them, but I feel extremely uncomfortable when I'm not making these movements and actions when I think should be. I make weird movements with my feet while attempting to sleep, and can't concentrate on anything else.

I'm also obsessed with patterns. Musical patterns, design patterns, any kind of pattern I can guarantee I will look at. I notice the patterns in games, algorithms in different things, and everything appears like it could have a matching algebraic equation or something (even though I absolutely hate math). An example of that is my obsession with Schoenberg's 12-tone Theory and Atonal/pattern music and fractal music. I'm probably thinking about these things 60% of the day. Music is the meaning of my life, currently.

I don't have social anxiety, but I prefer to keep to myself. I can talk a lot via text and on the internet, but in person I tend to stay very quiet, unless I'm surrounded by the exact right people.