Mental Support Community

How can I make myself better?

Blossom

Hi Invisible, I see you:)! Welcome to the community. I'm not a depression expert, and I hope others respond, but it does sound like you might be in one. Is it possible for you to see a therapist? There are usually counselors available for college students on campus. That relationship with your mother is troubling, and I can relate. I didn't get along with my mother either. The family relationships are where you develop your identity, and if you aren't getting good positive feedback, your sense of self can really suffer....to the point of going invisible! It is not at all hopeless though. A therapist can help you get back on track with yourself, and then you can start benefiting from positive friends and activities again. Can you picture yourself making that call? btw, what kind of art are you into? I like art too.

What you describe are pretty textbook Depression symptoms, which is a good thing; there are options for helping yourself feel better. You don't necessarily have full on depression, but it seems likely that you're in that spectrum. There is a sort of depression called "dysthymia" (think of it as "depression lite") which is long lasting (you need to have it for two years before it can even be diagnosed). It could be that - it could just be something subclinical entirely.