Mental Support Community

Anxiety because of internet insults.

Battery Pulse

I wonder Battery Pulse if you suffer from anxiety in other situations? Are you being treated for anxiety, on medication or attending therapy?

Because of my diagnosed social phobia I also am hypersensitive to critizism, I am currently attending therapy which helps.

Could this be an option for you I wonder?

Keep well

Goose

Guest ASchwartz

Hi Battery Pulse,

Two things:

1. I am a therapist and I can tell you that it takes time for it to work,

2. It is not true that you cannot do anything about it. You can "talk to yourself" by reminding yourself of what we are telling you:

These Internet people are anonymous. They do not know you. It is all a big fantasy, why?, because they do not know you.

When you get anxious, take a couple of deep breaths, relax and remind yourself of this. In fact, repeat it to yourself.

Try it and let us know how it is working.

Allan:)

Hi Battery Pulse!

I belonged to a hobby forum that was so full of vicious people! I thought it was all a kind of game, or "culture" where you might tease and insult somebody and it's all in fun, but invariably I find that those who dish it out cannot take it. They attacked me for my age one time and this really annoyed me and suddenly I couldn't take it anymore. I am somewhat older than they are, but let's face it. Most of them have their faults too. They might be 20 years old, but dang it! Most of them are obese, and at least I don't have *that* problem, sheesh!!

I wish I had been able to handle the attack with more grace but I failed to and left the community. I wish I could go back, but I know that at some point somebody would push a button and I'd fly off the handle. Who needs that???

So I don't frequent that forum anymore.

I suggest you find internet sites that have some codes of behavior?? There are a lot of sites out there.