Mental Support Community

Physical or mental? need some advice.....

SL1001

I am writing here because I am not certain if my problem is mental or physical.

I would appreciate it if anyone could give some advice.

I have digestive problem since high school. Sometimes I get diarrhoea and indigestion, especially when I feel nervous (though I am not certain if nervous cause diarrhoea or vice versa). I was still quite fit at that time, yet after getting into university and worked as a professional, my weight dropped by almost one-third (with improvement in between though, thus not uni-directional). I have visited many doctors and they all said I am just having irritable bowel. As I saw my weight continued to drop, after working for 2.5 years, I quitted my job to try and find a permanent solution.

I am not certain if this was caused by stress, or inability to handle some difficulties in life (I guess I am a introvert most of the time). On the other hand, I was diagnosed as having Helicobacter Pylori (which can cause stomach inflammation or even ulcer). After taking anti-biotics, I have no more diarrhoea and much less indigestion (though I am still physically weak due to light weight).

Now I am on the course of recovering physical strength. Although I have always believed my problem to be physical and my mental weakness was only a side-effect (even before discovering H.Pylori), I found that I may indeed have some psychological issue recently, to name a few:

1. fear of appointment: no matter dating friends or dentist, I always fear of not being able to make it, perhaps due to a possible diarrhoea

2. being shy/ don't want to attract attention or be placed under spotlight

Would anyone be able to give any advice? Should I seek professional help? Thanks a lot.

I have had & still do deal with the same Issues as yourself. Since I was a Teenager. I am now 52yrs. Old.