Mental Support Community

A new member who's absolutely dreading the holidays

Auntie Crash

Not quite sure how to start because I've never done this before. I guess what I'm hoping to attain is another way to communicate with others who also need support. Now that the silly season is upon us again, I've been suffering from panic attacks. Unfortunately, I have a very limited personal support network of friends to help at this time. And, the ones I do have, of course, are all very busy with their respective families. I'm feeling very much alone and things just really hurt right now. What is it about this season that brings out these extra emotions or makes them feel so much more intense??

Anyway, I very much look forward to discovering the world online forums, etc..

Hello, AC, welcome :)!

I'm sorry this season is causing you panic attacks and you don't have a good personal support network :(... I used to hate Christmas for many years because of all the stress before them and also because the rather complicated "situation" in our family (the reltionships). But I'm fortunately much better in "sustaining" this season now, partially thanks to psychotherapy which healed my anxiety disorder, partialy thanks to some changes in habbits in our family (such as not giving presents to everybody - very relieving!) There are many people who struggle with Christmas, either because of stress of because of feeling alone, ... Why do you have problems with this seson?

I hope you'll find some supportive friends in this cmmunity... :)

Take care!

P.S.: Panic attacks can be treated also by meds, so it would be probably a good idea to consult a doctor, in case you haven't already done it.