Mental Support Community

Why do some people suffer with mental illnesses & others don't?

paula

Seen as ci55555 or whatever his name is? Is not replying, may as well start a new post?

Why is it that some people more than others, have bad doubts of Depression! For instance: Myself!

I look around me & think to myself, "I wonder whether she/he acts like I do from time to time? Meaning: I have my day's where I can cope and I have day's where I can't cope?"

Why have I got a chemical imbalance, and someone else hasn't? Why is it only me that suffers from this in my family, and no one else does? Not even going back in generation's! I mean, I was brought up the same as anyone else in the family. I have the same mother & father has my brothers & sisters. The same genes. The only thing that is different is, I am rhesus negative blood type and the only other member of my family with this blood type was my grandfather (father to my mother). Even my grandfathers own children didn't have this blood type. Just me! I know it can skip a generation, but mental health issues, no one even checking back in generations, has ever suffered with apart from me!

I have two grown up boys and none of them suffer with mental health?

I cannot understand why, if people suffer this illness, then why is it not hereditory? And why is it that only certain people suffer this illness? Is it that everyone has got the same chemicles in their brain (apart from people who are born with brain damage or have suffered brain damage due to no fault of their own) and its just a matter of something triggering it, say like depression, losing a job, death etc?

I just can't get my head around the fact that some people suffer these mental illnesses and others don't? Even when they belong to the same family (direct members)?

I just don't understand how it can affect some of us and not others? I know people who have had a lot of bad luck in their life, yet they haven't even suffered any severe depression?