Mental Support Community

Being a therapist

IrmaJean

I'm not sure this fits anywhere here, but my entire experience in therapy has made me realize that I really would have loved being a therapist myself. It's kind of weird figuring out now so late in life what I should have done 20 years ago. I've always been interested in psychology and human behavior. I also very much enjoy helping others. Going to therapy has really "fed the fire", so to speak. I'm really fascinated and feel as if my eyes have been opened to so many things they hadn't seen before. I feel energized in some new and exciting way. Unfortunately, I'm not 18 and just out of high school. Back then I never would have had the self-confidence to have even considered it. Maybe I can read a lot of books...or offer an encouraging word to others online here and there. I've tried reading about schooling, but it is very confusing. I guess I'll just never say never. I'd have to wait until my kids were a bit older anyhow. I see now that my husband uses anger as a defense mechanism to mask other feelings. And that my friend keeps herself at a distance to avoid feelings she'd rather not deal with. I wonder how one turns off the analyzing after leaving therapy?

Guest ASchwartz

Hi IrmaJean,

If there is one thing I have learned in this life it is that it is never too late. You can become anything you want regardless of your age or circumstances. I know countless numbers of people who returned to school late in life to become medical doctors, lawyers, nurses and etc. All you need is the will and a powerful enough wish.