Mental Support Community

My Imaginary Companion

I am either losing me mind or experiencing way too much transference! My therapist has become my imaginary friend! He is with me constantly, when I am studying, doing housework, driving, lying in bed before going to sleep, when I wake up and am having my coffee. He talks to me and I talk to him constantly in my mind. I imagine him sitting next to me all of the time. He is in the car conversing with me while I drive. Is this bad? :rolleyes:

Tobe, I'm afraid Dr. Schwartz is away on vacation at the moment, so he won't be able to answer quickly.

Personally, I'd tend to tell my therapist whatever came up. After all, if it means they have to refer you, in their professional judgment, what would it mean if you kept it a secret? Clearly, you'd be doing something your therapist would find dangerous.

I think it's far more likely that it would be something productive to talk about, in session. After all, are you talking to your imaginary therapist to seduce him, or are you just processing your day? I mean, if the conversation you're having helps you process your thoughts, isn't interfering with real life (like stopping other conversations, or distracting you from driving), and doesn't seem out of bounds to you, is it even a problem?

I went through a period of talking to an imaginary person (a girl I had known who had left, though I didn't talk to her much, in real life), as an audience, for a while as a teenager. And look how well I turned out! ;-) I mean, it didn't seem like a problem to me, and I gradually stopped after a while.