Mental Support Community

Hope

IrmaJean

Don't ever lose it. It's always there, even in the darkest of darkest places if you open your heart and mind enough to see it.

Seven years ago, I was 36 years old and struggling. I had a family member with addiction, no self-esteem, and no inner strength to do anything about it. Then I made a friend, we became close, and I lost her in a traumatic (for me) fashion. I was devastated, despondent, depressed...I thought, why love anyone when there is such risk? I will just give up.

I didn't.

I made a choice to go to therapy. I found an excellent therapist who was a great match for me. We developed a therapeutic relationship that was very healing for me. I learned that I will always choose to love because that's who I am. That experience put me on the path that I still walk on today. I discovered that my heart and mind is in helping others on the path. I've been studying for 2 years now in school and have been excelling. I have a dream to one day become a therapist myself. I may or may not accomplish that dream, but I'm going to put every ounce of effort into trying. If I can...for even one person...do what my therapist did for me, it would be worth everything. I cannot thank him enough for changing the direction of my life. I am so grateful and appreciative and he will always hold a place in my heart. My Counseling Theory professor just wrote to me and told me to bypass the last assignment because I had already mastered the material and earned an A. I feel so happy and proud of myself. I can really do this.