Mental Support Community

Any other Avoidant Personality Disorder folks here?

JaneE

Hello!

In my early 20's, I was diagonsed by an MD with "Mixed Personality Disorder", which I hear is not a valid designation now, but I thought it worth mentioning. About 10 or 15 years ago I was diagnosed with "Avoidant Personality Disorder" by a clinical psychologist.

Anyone else here diagnosed with this PD or living with someone who has it? How does it affect you?

For me it means I'm terrified of people and dislike being around them. So I live a very dependent and shut-in life. I have no friends at all, aside from a few very superficial acquaintances. I have a lot of problems with dissociation when people are around, I simply 'space out' and am unable to pay attention. I had a lot of problems in school when I was little because of this (I'm in my 40's now).

I make my living as an artist, and I primarily work online. It's wonderful for me to be able to communicate by typing. I can see my thoughts... I don't lose track of them, even if I were to dissociate for some reason I can maintain my train of thought just by reading what I'd typed up to that point. In person I'm sure I seem very spacey because I can't complete thoughts and often respond in the wrong place or tangentially.

Of course I have so many more problems than that, but it all comes back to that fatal flaw. Thank goodness for this place! I live in the US, have no insurance, and so can't get therapy. Obviously I don't make much money or I could just pay upfront. The worst thing about a PD is how hopeless you feel. "Wherever you go there you are". I've had problems with suicide attempts and ideations, though I've not made any attempts since my son was born 8 years ago. I want to be as whole and healthy as possible for his sake, but it's very hard! I keep reading "Prognosis is Poor" everywhere, which can be discouraging.